638

ADMINISTRATION.

22.—Expenditure and Revenue of the Public Works Department for the fiscal years 1912-1916.

Items.	1912. \$	1913. \$	1914. \$	1915. \$	1916. \$
Dredging, plant, etc	5,029,147	5,980,030	6,228,303	5,120,611	3,875,713
Slides and Booms.	174,834	124,220	167,435	333,619	
Roads and Bridges.	197,628	152,581	130,628	76,165	
Public buildings	4,141,327	7,420,885	12,397,465	11,648,645	
Telegraphs.	641,759		768,378	1,003,590	
Miscellaneous	574,985	504,362	602,993	571,341	
Total .	13,928,667	18,844,224	27,991,337	29,283,317	19,539,298
	Ri	EVENUE.			
Slides and booms.	87,790	110,108	76,883	80,598	108,228
	50,615				
Graving docks.					
Graving docks.	33,355	00.002			
Rents.	33,355 200,330	$ 88,852 \\ 215.526 $			181,227
	33,355 200,330 46,541	215,526 25,780	253,112	225,512	

EXPENDITURE.

HARBOUR COMMISSIONS.

Certain of the more important Canadian harbours are controlled by Harbour Commissions, constituted by special act of the Dominion Parliament for each case. The number of commissioners varies, but is, in most cases, three. In every case the property of the harbour is vested in the commission, which has authority to administer the harbour, appoint the harbour master, make by-laws and regulations concerning the harbour and ships using it, fix and collect dues payable for the use of the harbour and control the expenditure of the revenue received from this source. For the purpose of harbour construction and improvement a commission may expropriate land and borrow money on debentures issued against security of the real and other property of the harbour. In the cases of Quebec and Montreal, money has been advanced by the Dominion Government against such debentures. The commissions are under the inspection of the Marine Department and make reports to the Minister of Marine. The harbours at the following places are administered by commissions, the date given in each case being that of the Act of Parliament under which the commission received its present constitution and powers: Pictou (1879); Quebec (1899); Three Rivers (1882); Montreal (1894); Belleville (1889); Toronto (1911); Hamilton (1912); Winnipeg and St. Boniface (1912); Van-couver (1913); New Westminster (1913); North Fraser (1913).